Dennys Reyes Still Looking To Catch Ride Home For Holidays

Cardinal's reliever Dennys Reyes is hoping someone will give him a lift home for the holidays since his 1994 Toyota Tacoma has been in the shop for the past 7 years.

Cardinals reliever Dennys Reyes expressed both concern and disdain over the lack of options he had to get back to his hometown of Higuera de Zaragoza in Mexico. As of press time today, Reyes had yet to secure a ride home for Christmas.

Reyes said that he has asked numerous other players for a ride including Julio Lugo, Yadier Molina, and, on the off chance he’s heading that way anyway, Albert Pujols. Dennys says that he offers an outstanding collection of mix CD’s for the ride and knows this awesome taco place in Texas. When asked if he would pitch in for gas, Reyes said he didn’t see the point if someone was heading that way regardless.

“I’m just looking for somebody to help me out this one time,” Reyes said about the need of transportation, “I haven’t really been able to nail down a solid ride home yet and I’d really like to go back and see the fam.” Reyes has spent the last 3 years in the United States during Christmas because he’s been unable to “catch a lift.”

“Last year the Duncan’s invited me over on Christmas and let me crash on their futon in the basement. That was a pretty solid move on their part and I really appreciate it, but I’m still hoping to catch a ride down with somebody if they’re heading that way anyway,” Reyes said he currently doesn’t have any standing invitations of a place to spend Christmas since Chris was traded this past season. “Me and Chris were pretty good friends and I think that’s why I got the invite last year, but with him being traded and all, I’m not sure me and Dave are close enough for him to float me the invitation.”

When asked what his holiday plans were if the petition for a ride went unanswered, Reyes was unsure of how this Christmas would play out. “The year I spent in Kansas City I volunteered at a soup kitchen, and one year I just went to a Ponderosa and took advantage of the buffet. Everything’s closed on Christmas so it’s hard to get a good meal. There’s a Denny’s down the street that says they’re going to be open on Christmas so I might go there for dinner.” When asked if he saw the irony of Dennys Reyes spending Christmas at Denny’s, Reyes said he didn’t see it as ironic, just kinda sad. “Have you ever seen that scene in The Santa Clause where Tim Allen goes to Denny’s on Christmas Eve and spends it with all the other divorced dads who take their kids out? Well, it’s kinda like that, except my kids won’t be there so it will just be me and my country friend steak.”

Reyes said he never encountered this dilemma while playing for Texas and Los Angeles, saying that those places were close enough that he could just “hop a bus home.”

“It’s not like that in St. Louis though,” said Reyes, “It’s gonna be like 250 bucks to get home from here and I can’t afford that kinda cash this time of year. If nobody comes through for me it looks like I’m gonna be spending another year watching all 24 hours of A Christmas Story and spiking my cocoa with some tequila. Merry freakin’ Christmas.”

Reyes was still hopeful of someone being filled with the holiday spirit and giving him a lift. If all else fails, he plans to inquire with Kyle Lohse about at least getting him as far as California.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

