My UCB Award Votes (Read em’ and say “Well that guy has no damn clue what he’s talking about”)

So here was my dilemma, as a newcomer should I try to actually vote how I honestly feel these awards should go? Or do I stay true to form and try to be comedic with my responses to balance out all the stat heads in Cardinals Blogger Nation? Well after seriously considering most of these categories, I see that I can actually do both. Most of my baseball talk comes straight outta my ass and so I expect some flack, mean comments, and egging to come to my apartment after I say my peace. What keeps me honest? Probably the fact that I don’t care what people think, no one has commented on my blogs yet so any comment would be welcomed and…well none of you actually know where I live.  So without further ado, here are the Fredbird Follys votes for the UCB awards.

1. Cardinal Player of the Year

  • Matt Holliday
  • Albert Pujols
  • Brendan Ryan
  • Write-in: __________

Yeah, Pujols is awesome. He’ll win MV3 and Cardinals Nation will cheer him as our hero. I love Pujols and yes, he is as awesome as everyone says, however I will most likely be the 1 descending vote in the ranks and I’m casting my ballot for Brendan Ryan. Here’s why: Albert is Albert. He was incredible this year, but to be honest, who didn’t see that coming? Pujols was the starting first basemen coming into the season since the early 2000s. If he wouldn’t have been Albert we would all be throwing bitch fits right now and blaming him for everything that went wrong in Cardinal Nation in 2009. Brendan Ryan came into 2009 as a goofball who could stand at shortstop and backup our golden boy Khalil Greene. Then it happened, Khalil freaked out, left shortstop open, and Brendan Ryan was forced to grow up, put away the games and be a full-time major league shortstop. The thing that makes him my player of the year is the fact that he not only stepped up, but did it in such a way that there was talk of him getting some Gold Glove votes, we have an incredible starting shortstop in 2010, and Tony even mentioned that he was the Wizard’s Apprentice a couple of times. Albert, every year is your year, but in my opinion you gotta tip your hat to Brendan in 2009 for filling a major hole in the infield. (P.S. Holliday only played half the season, we lost our top prospect for him, and he missed a fly ball in the playoffs that any self-respecting man with basic self-defense reflexes would have caught. Cardinal of the Year? Pass)

2. Cardinal Pitcher of the Year
  • Chris Carpenter
  • Ryan Franklin
  • Adam Wainwright
  • Write-in: __________

Adam Wainwright. For the record I was really close to giving this one to Blake Hawksworth, but damn, you gotta give it to Rootbeer on this one. Carpenter was hurt for the first part of the season so Wainwright had to carry a Cardinal staff through a stunning April, and he did, no bitching. The man helped us pick up Mark DeRosa, (you know he helped) and then was a competitor for the Cy Young. He picked up a gold glove this year and had more wins than any other Cardinal. In my opinion, Wainwright was our ace this year. What gets him my vote? The fact that he wasn’t. He carried an amazing team through April, then stepped right back into the #2 shadows when Chris Carpenter returned from the DL. He was outstanding and just as consistent as Carpenter all year, but was content with being the #2 starter in both the regular season and the playoffs. Waino was outstanding all year and didn’t complain about any of the cards he was dealt, whether that be letting Todd Wellemeyer lose a game for you after 7 or 8 innings or being forced to do a laughable anti-smoking commercial with our governor. Wainwright had all the class you’d want in a Cardinal and in my opinion, class goes a long way. ( I know no one reads my blog posts, but if someone does this week; I hope to God it’s Milton Bradley)

3. Game of the Year

Write in: October 1st vs. Reds. Really? This wasn’t a choice? If you are a Cardinal fan this was an AWESOME game. Not close, not meaningful, just a slaughter of a non-factor team that got us pumped for the playoffs. Troy Glaus was back, the Cardinals won 13-0 and Tony LaRussa passed up John McGraw on the all-time games managed leader board. The best part about this game? Chris Carpenter hit a GRAND SLAM! (and a double just for good measure). This was the first home run of his major league career and it was a GRAND SLAM! Chris Carpenter finished the game with 6 RBIs, and pitched almost 6 shutout innings while only giving up 3 hits. The Cardinals won 13-0 and Chris Carpenter played like the Reds had collectively insulted his mother. Amazing game.

4. Surprise Player of the Year
  • Ryan Franklin
  • Brendan Ryan
  • Skip Schumaker
  • Write-in: _____________

Write-in: Kyle McClellan. Can we talk about how much this guy sucked last year and then finished 2009 with a respectable ERA and became a player we could rely on? Last year this guy was 2-7 with a 4.04 ERA. This year he finished 4-4 with a 3.38 ERA. I know that’s not great, but he really came on strong in the 2nd half. The fact that I trusted him taking the mound after last year was enough of a surprise, but the fact that I hoped at times that Tony would put him in? Well that flat out shocked the hell outta me.

5. Disappointing Player of the Year
  • Rick Ankiel
  • Khalil Greene
  • Kyle Lohse
  • Write-in: _____________

Khalil Greene. Thanks for making us pay a shit ton of money for you and then freaking out because you realized that you play baseball for a living and being sent back to the minors. The guy who was supposed to be our everyday shortstop didn’t even make the postseason roster. If Brendan Ryan hadn’t transformed into the Magician’s Nephew just in time to plug up the giant hole Greene left in our infield, I think a lot more people would be pissed off at Khalil Greene right now.

6. Cardinal Rookie of the Year
  • Mitchell Boggs
  • Blake Hawksworth
  • Colby Rasmus
  • Write-in: ____________

Colby Rasmus: Despite being my favorite player on the Cardinals (I’m a satirical writer so I can pick favorites), this kid was Jimmy Edmonds Jr. in the field, showed power n his 1st season and was the most clutch player we had. (Take that El Hombre). He came through with walk off homers a few times this season and had one of the most consistent bats in the postseason. I like this kid a lot and think we might be worrying a little too much about protection for Albert coming from elsewhere. Colby’s only going to get better with some more experience and when he doesn’t have to split time with Rick.

7. Off-Season Acquisition of the Year
  • Khalil Greene
  • Trever Miller
  • Dennys Reyes
  • Write-in: ____________

Trevor Miller: The guy only had to get about one or two guys out per game, but those guys were the Manny Rimerezes and the Ryan Howards. The man didn’t have to get many outs, but he did have to get tough ones and he got ’em. We brought him in to do a job and he did it. I like the big man, Dennys Reyes, but Trevor Miller was the “shut-up, sit-down” guy that the Cardinals needed.

8. Midseason Acquisition of the Year
  • Mark DeRosa
  • Matt Holliday
  • John Smoltz
  • Write-in: _________

Write In: Julio Lugo. I can’t believe this guy wasn’t a choice. DeRo was good, but now he’s on the market, we gave up quite a bit to get him and he got injured getting off the plane. Smoltz was outstanding, but didn’t do a whole lot to help an already excelling team and now he’s being shopped around like the antique collectible he is. For Holliday we gave up our best prospect and now we’re either gonna lose him after half a season or end up paying around $300 a ticket to see games so we can pay his salary (Not to mention the whole ‘Oh my God I lost the easy fly ball in the lights’ fiasco) With Julio Lugo we have a consistent bat and glove for, not only the 2nd half of 2009, but also 2010. What did we give up for him? A struggling outfielder who St. Louis blamed for absolutely everything that went wrong with the Cardinals. (I swear Kyle Lohse could have hit 17 straight batters and we would have blamed Chris Duncan). The Red Sox lost a vet with some spark left in him for an outfielder that was basically told not to unpack anything once he moved to Boston. All the other guys were great, but as of right now it looks like Julio Lugo was almost a gift, and one that will keep on giving in 2010.

9. Most Anticipated Cardinal
  • Allen Craig
  • Daryl Jones
  • Shelby Miller
  • Write-in: __________

Write-In: Joe Mather. Yeah the guy has some injury trouble, but so did Carp and he came back after a 2 year hiatus and almost took home a Cy Young. Say what you want, but I like this guy and think that he’s gonna do big things in the future (if not for us, then for someone else. Possibly someone like Home Depot when he gives up baseball and decides to manage the lumber department).

10. Best Individual Blog*
  • Write-in: C-70 at the Bat

Awesome blog and he’s really welcoming to people in the UCB (for those on the outside)

11. Best Team Blog^
  • Write-in: Viva El Birdos

I’ll give this one to Viva El Birdos although I was disappointed in their recent satirical pick for a feature blog. Well written and all, but the guy totally infringed on Fredbird Follys territory and literally wrote pretty much the same story that I was writing when I took a break to check Twitter and saw that I was beaten to the punch.

12. Best Media Blog

  • Bird Land
  • Cardinal Beat
  • Obviously, You’re Not a Golfer
  • Write-in: __________

I’ll go with Bird Land, they keep their stuff current and in the business of social media I definitely believe that more is more.

13. Best UCB Project

I love reading the Roundtables. Really gives you insights into who the guys in the UCB are and what they value.

14. Most Optimistic Cardinal Blog
  • Write-in: C-70 at the Bat always has nice things to say about the birds
15. Funniest Cardinal Blog
  • Write-in: Can I vote for myself? I only did this because I wanted some comedy in bird land and even though I’m new, I really hope to make Fredbird Follys a force in the future as I refine my style and comedic delivery.
16. Rookie Blog of the Year

Since I haven’t read either. I guess I’ll abstain from this one.

So there are my votes. I welcome your arguments since I will adamantly and blindly defend my positions for days. It’s the off-season so I have nothing better to do.

3 Responses to “My UCB Award Votes (Read em’ and say “Well that guy has no damn clue what he’s talking about”)”

  1. Cardinal70 Says:

    Thanks for the kind words and the great votes! Fascinating thought process on some of them. 🙂

  2. The 2009 Cardinal Blogger Awards — United Cardinal Bloggers Says:

    […] Best News Links Cardinal Nation Globe CardinalsGM C70 At The Bat Fredbird Follys Inside Pulse Stan Musial’s […]

  3. 2009 Cardinal Blogger Award Winners — United Cardinal Bloggers Says:

    […] The winner: Adam Wainwright The man helped us pick up Mark DeRosa, (you know he helped) and then was a competitor for the Cy Young. He picked up a gold glove this year and had more wins than any other Cardinal.–Fredbird Follys […]

Leave a Reply

